Salt, Sunlight and Sorrow

Here are three tales from a Scotland that isn’t.

The Western Isles are a real place. A place rich in myth, history and inspiration. My version of the Western Isles brings the myth a little close to the surface, but it’s myth rooted in the folklore of a ragged, wind-swept seaboard ravaged over the years by Vikings, Gaels, Picts and more. They all left their marks, on both the land, and the myths that linger.

The Seal Stone is a cautionary tale of the woes domestic violence.

Sunlight Trapped In Water was brewed in the Fitz in Brighton 03/09/15 listening to Delta blues, distilled in the awesomely named Grims Grenka in Oslo and aged over a large Jura (the drink, not the island). I dedicated it to my Dad, who introduced me to old whiskey and older stories.

Three Songs is a homage to all the awesome folks who’ve ever shared a song or a tale round a fire with me. You know who you are.

This is a compilation, an iteration based on musing, feedback and hopefully a little maturity now I’ve had a chance to think. I wrote these words in 2015 and published them online. This is an edit to what I first wrote. I don’t believe that anything has to be set in stone, so hopefully what you see now is a more polished version of what you may have already read.

I hope you enjoy what you read.

Salt sunlight and sorrow

Leave a comment